April is Three-Challenge Month… (blog)

I am taking part in three different challenges this month. NaPoWriMo – National Poetry Writing Month http://www.napowrimo.net/ – has the aim of writing a poem a day throughout April. The A to Z Challenge – http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/ – is to blog about all 26 letters of the alphabet over the month. I am combining these two, setting myself the quite daunting challenge of writing a poem each day following the alphabet theme… Nothing like a bit of pressure! It would be great if you’d follow my efforts over the month.

Running separate to this is RhyPiBoMo, Rhyming Picture Book Month – https://angiekarcher.wordpress.com/. This has loads of great blog posts and tips on writing rhyming verse for picture books, aiming to help you to write your own story during the month… and there are prizes too! Rhyming picture books are really important to me, as this is where my writing journey began, and where I’m trying to focus my time now. I’ve heard all the warnings about publishers reactions to rhymers, and how they can be a tough/impossible sell. I don’t care. I’ve tried writing non-rhyming picture books, but it just doesn’t feel right … Like something’s missing. It’s just not me. So, for good or ill, I’m going to try my hardest to write a bunch of rhyming stories that I’m proud of, and hopefully that others like too.

As part of RhyPiBoMo, we’re asked to share a rhyming picture book we’ve read and loved this week. For me, one writer stands head and shoulders above the others, in terms of the quality of story, and the personal impact in inspiring me to try and recreate some of that magic in my own style… It’s Julia Donaldson – http://www.juliadonaldson.co.uk/ . I could choose half a dozen different stories of hers, but for me Room on the Broom is pretty-near perfect, complemented by the amazing illustrations of Axel Scheffler. If you ever get a chance to see the animated version, I’d recommend that too – the little touches in that, without adding a word to the text, help to emphasise just how rich the story is. Enjoy 🙂

room

3 thoughts on “April is Three-Challenge Month… (blog)

Leave a Reply

