Haiku Challenge – Five & Thrive

This is my contribution for Ronovan’s latest weekly challenge – check it out at https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2015/07/27/ronovanwrites-weekly-haiku-poetry-prompt-challenge-55-five-thrive/ . The prompt words are “five” and “thrive”. Mine is based around Maslow’s hierarchy of needs – technically it’s five haiku and a verse at the end (is there a name for this?). Hope you like it!

Mother Maslow

Mother Maslow’s start:
You gave me food and water,
Shelter from life’s storms

At the second stage,
Taught me how the world worked,
When to run, or stand

At Maslow’s third stage,
Showed me love’s reality:
You give, and you get

Then at the fourth stage,
Taught me to believe in me,
Hold my head up high

Now at Maslow’s fifth,
I unfurl my wings and fly,
To thrive, not survive

For all this, I thank you
In the only way I know
I carry your love inside me
And never hide its glow

challenge-55-thrive-maya-angelou

15 thoughts on “Haiku Challenge – Five & Thrive

  1. Very interesting, Al. Your poetry piece is very similar to Haiku + Tanka. A Tanka has more syllables/5 lines. There was one presented on Ronovan’s Challenge a little while back, but I can’t find it for you.

    Like

  2. Brilliant Haiku. When I would do more than one Haiku within the same running thought, I would just call it a multiple Haiku. It’s a way of telling a story in Haiku form. What you did with your Haiku was following a wonderful idea & you created a beautiful piece. I love it. jk 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

