Who Am I? (poem)

I don’t know who I am any more.

The mask has stuck fast
Public face absorbing private truth
Rictus grin fixed firm
All softeners and simpering
Homilies and ha-ha-has

Jargon and jelly beans

A rough diamond smoothed,
Ground to sand
Trickling through fingers that would claim it
Then hate-baked into a distorted parody

Dead eyes peer out
Locked into a part picked by past practice and present perfidy
Playing the role of a lifetime.
A life.
Time.

Hear my silent cries, the dry tears,
The balled-up fists beating against the invisible bars
In melodramatic stillness

I pause. This is me.

This has always been me.

1687023676_6968450235_z
Picture courtesy of http://www.flickr.com/photos/fotorita/1687023676 / Creative Commons

10 thoughts on “Who Am I? (poem)

    • Thanks Teresa. I went to a poetry slam event on Sat – a mixed bag, but it helped me to confirm the type of poetry that’s “me” (the funny, lighthearted ones, sometimes with a twist), and also sparked a couple of ideas for other poems, possibly in this vein. I’ll keep trying different things πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

