The Evil Inside (poem)

The bad thing weighs upon my mind
And will until it’s done.
Some wars should never begin,
Some battles cannot be won.

I can’t
I shouldn’t
I won’t
I couldn’t

I feel it rising in my gorge
Bubbling to the surface.
Bilious heat twists and builds,
Stoking my inner furnace.

I can’t
I shouldn’t
I won’t
I couldn’t

The mental cancer reaches mass,
Hate-toxins must be vented.
I am powerless; immobile;
Impotent against it.

I can’t
I shouldn’t
I won’t
I couldn’t

The pressure always grows and grows:
It never disappears.
The bad thing may rest,
But never truly clears

I can’t
I shouldn’t
I won’t
I couldn’t

Not again

poe

11 thoughts on “The Evil Inside (poem)

  1. Nice piece of writing, Al. I think those negative repetitions are very common in the “normal” mind and hinder our inner voice from assisting us to try something new or experiencing valuable changes. “I shouldn’t take the leap. It’s too scary!” “I won’t try because it’s too hard and I might fail.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

