Haiku – “Noise” & “Stag”

This is my contribution for Ronovan’s weekly haiku challenge – a three-part haiku flash fiction.

Note – in the UK, we refer to the bridegroom’s pre-wedding “celebrations” as a stag night/ party/ weekend/ do. The groom is called the stag.

My stag weekend took place in Brighton, on the same weekend as Gay Pride. I wasn’t the only naked man on the beach at the end of that night, but I was the only one who was solo… (My friends had ritually de-bagged me and thrown me in the sea. I had to beg for them to at least leave my shoes – those pebbles were rough!) Happy days…

Anyway, for the avoidance of all doubt, this is entirely fictional.

#1
Raucous stag party
Celebrates male bonding
Most unpleasantly

#2
Stag wakes in hotel.
Sick with shame, reeking of her.
Slightest noise resounds

#3
Wedding day tears.
Apologies are white noise
For stag night mistakes

https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2015/09/21/ronovanwrites-weekly-haiku-poetry-prompt-challenge-63-stag-noise/

ronovan_writes_haiku_prompt_badge_autumn_2014

23 thoughts on “Haiku – “Noise” & “Stag”

  1. Those parties occur here in the States as well… Back in the day they were referred to as “stag parties” therefore I nearly went the same route as you for this challenge. However, not having such an experience (my bachelorette party was immensely tame) I opted for something else.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe it’s because I grew up in Canada where we share British terminologies and spelling, but the term “stag” (weekend/night/party) was not foreign. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really don’t understand the whole hazing aspect of those parties though.

    Good poem! And glad it wasn’t your story…LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are some readers of my blog who know me, so I needed to make really really clear that this is not based on fact! It actually started with the wedding verse in my head, but I wanted to take it back and show the “whole” story, in haiku form

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: RonovanWrites #Haiku #Poetry Challenge #Review 63 | ronovanwrites

Leave a Reply

