What’s in a name?

The eagle-eyed amongst you may have spotted that I’ve changed the header on my blog to “A Certain Point of View”… bonus points if you recognised it as a Star Wars reference. This uses “certain” in the sense of “particular”, rather than in the sense of “being” certain. I rarely am.

I called this “Al the Author” originally as a statement to myself as much as anything. My thinking was that I wear many hats, Al the Dad, Al the Husband, Al the Office Drone… and this blog was for the writing part of me, that had no voice, no outlet. (Obviously there has been some blurring at the edges since.) What I didn’t think throughย back thenย was that that makes for a pretty clunky blog title… ain’t hindsight wonderful!

Nothing else is changing with my blog. Yet. I’ve got some other ideas and loose plans for the future, but we’ll see what comes of them.

So, thanks for reading my blog, and please keep liking, commenting and sharing… and hold me to account if my material’s not good enough to warrant it! ๐Ÿ™‚

wings

10 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Like the new title. Now being the armchair post-structuralist that I am, even if you were to assert that the “certain” was meant in the “being” certain sense, that you make it modifying “point of view,” a phrase that implies there exists other points of view on the same matter, you would be, thus, stating your view is right and the others wrong, while at the same time, “certain” carries the meaning as you stated of “particular” that does not contain a judgment on either your view of the matter nor other (differing) views on the same matter, a sort of neutral assertion undermining the original intent to claim your certainty of point of view, thereby achieving your stated goal of wishing the phrase “point of view” be described as one particular take as opposed to “point of view” that the speaker / writer is certain of the truthfulness of that view, a take on (subjective) perception which would be invalid as soon it was uttered based on this writer’s certain point of view. I hope I have made Derrida happy with my run-on sentence. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, what a response… This was the extent of my thinking!

      Obi-Wan: Your father… was seduced by the Dark Side of the Force. He ceased to be the Jedi Anakin Skywalker and “became” Darth Vader. When that happened, the good man who was your father was destroyed. So, what I told you was true… from a certain point of view.
      Luke: A certain point of view?
      Obi-Wan: Luke, you’re going to find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

