V is for…

Day 22 of your Essential Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse… We’re on the home stretch now. The weird thing is, as I wrote these haiku this is the first time I’ve thought to myself – “these aren’t bad“… shame there are so few days left for me to feel comfortable about doing this!

It will come as a surprise to few that I plan on collating these guides, along with some extras (can you believe I forgot to do a post about “toilets”, under “T”???), into my first self-published book! So, if you think I made a grievous error in not including something earlier in the guide, or have any wisdom about self-publishing to pass on, please let me know in the comments. I’ll share any further news on this as it develops. Am on a bit of a learning curve, as ever… 🙂

Without further ado, it’s … Haiku of the Dead!

A place with a view
Helps make it defensible
And a scenic choice

Make-up will run out;
Hairdryers have no power.
Forget vanity.

All technology
Gone the way of video.
A Betamax death.

Above all, one group
Will be sought after: Doctors.
If none around, vets.

Victory is not
Measured by the body count,
But by loving life

There will be violence,
Battles, bloodshed and heartache…
Keep a peaceful soul

A tip on vampires?
They’re a fictional creature.
The zombies are real!

Vacant expression.
Monosyllabic grunting.
Zombie, or teenage?

 

 

V

“You wrote this as part of a month-long challenge? What?!”

Throughout April, I will be joining the A to Z Challenge, posting six days a week to cover each letter of the alphabet… even that annoying “X”… For my theme, I have gone down the well-trodden, stereotypical, bit-of-a-cliché -really path of zombie survival tips… in haiku.

With tongue firmly in cheek, I hope you will join me for the month, and beyond 🙂

There are hundreds of blogs participating – over 1700. I will be doing my best to check out as many of these as possible. You can too via this link: http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-z-challenge-sign-up-list-2016.html

65 thoughts on “V is for…

  1. Good thing I wasn’t drinking when I read the last one!
    Though, I must be lucky. I have a few teenagers and they don’t have a vacant look. Sometimes they smile, sometimes they yell, but it’s rarely a dull moment. Or maybe it’s just me 😉

    As usual I love these Al, and I agree with everyone, please do put them into a book.
    These two made me think
    “Victory is not
    Measured by the body count,
    But by loving life

    There will be violence,
    Battles, bloodshed and heartache…
    Keep a peaceful soul”

    The last one made me laugh. Thanks, as usual! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Dirty Dozen, featuring D. Wallace Peach | Myths of the Mirror

Leave a Reply

