The Weary Traveller

I’m back! Miss me? Don’t answer that 🙂

I’ve just taken a couple of weeks off to recharge the batteries, and deal with some things offline (including, fingers crossed, finding a job). If I’ve missed any amazing posts of yours, please drop me a link in the comments!

There’s going to be a few changes around here, but more on that next week. For now, a poem I wrote a while back, which seems to fit nicely. I’ve written a bunch of stuff while I’ve been away, so there’s plenty more to come – both poetry and 99-word stories. Of course, I didn’t write the things I’d planned to, but that’s becoming a recurring theme… A poet with too many ideas is like a dog with two tails!

**** A huge and heartfelt thank you to everyone who took the time to vote for me for the ABBA Funniest Blogger award – I am honoured to have even been nominated (even if it was ultimately in vain, grumble grumble 🙂 )

The Weary Traveller
The weary traveller has returned
From the confident kingdom of chronic confusion,
The undulating valleys of mild toothache,
And inevitable ophthalmic inquisitions.

He alone braved the long-ish night;
Withstood, insulated, winter’s whiskered whimpering,
And greeted summer’s salacious sun with solemnity,
Standing stoic as others frivolously frolicked.

He bears so many scars, niggles and nicks within, yet bravely sallies on,
Still travelling through each day,
In and out of narrative,
Towards destinations
Undecided.

 

2813426331_91b7564821_z

Picture credit: flickr.com/photos/zniper/2813426331

46 thoughts on “The Weary Traveller

  1. Welcome back, Al. A quote regarding June 23rd: “Long ago, Horace (65 – 8 BCE) wrote that nescit vox missa reverti / a word once spoken can never be recalled. We ignore his warning at our peril.” I guess some people don’t read Horace any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good to have you back, Al. Very recognizable poem. Where are all those dogs with two tails hidden? So sorry for the UK and the world. I am not liking where all this is going… 😦 Let’s hope the world will not have to deal with two Trumps, or even one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back my friend! I am sad to hear of the many unfortunate incidents occurring in your world today, but glad you took the time to rest, and feel somewhat renewed. May that dog go ’round, and ’round, ’til he becomes very dizzy – but never falls down!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadly I was home all the way through. Am stunned. Thinking about doing a political post on Monday – very out of character for this blog, but I’m in grief about what my fellow countrymen have signed up for

      Like

  4. It seems to we distant Aussies that there was a lot of fear and ignorance and not much substance for the LEAVE, then I saw the Murdoch Press was heavily behind LEAVE, what did I say about him?????>>?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Murdoch press is gloating in victory today. They’ve been sowing the seeds of that fear and ignorance for years, and now reap the rewards. Oh brave new world…

      Like

Leave a Reply

