99-word story – The Desert

I stumbled on through the desert, so close I could taste it, feel its nectar sliding down my parched throat. Days wandering dusty wastes, every breath clogged with abrasive sand, would soon pay off. One more forsaken hill, one more desolate dune… It was relentless. Ever-shifting, numbingly monotonous, beneath an unforgiving sun.

One more dune to go… Too far. I collapsed from exhaustion, rolling without resistance to the base, my world tumbling with it. I cried salt tears, utterly broken. Defeated.

Then, lying there in the dust, I finally found what I’d really been searching for all along.

Myself.

 

8369256554_371104cbef_z

Picture credit: flickr.com/photos/colfrankland/8369256554

Written for:Β https://carrotranch.com/2016/07/21/july-20-flash-fiction-challenge/ on the theme “surprise in a desert”

49 thoughts on “99-word story – The Desert

  1. Do we ever find ourselves tumbling through the deserts others have created for us?
    That last tumble, does it allow us to see ourselves for who or what we want to see?
    Thanks for stopping by my contribution at Carrot Ranch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I didn’t know where you were going with this one (which is always the best thing!). Sometimes we really do need to get to that point of being completely defeated, in that space we can be open to finding what we’ve been seeking all along.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

