Haiku – “Call” & “Cheer”

A bumper crop from me today. It is actually my birthday… some birthday grumpiness may have sneaked in with these!

#1 – for me
Call the newspapers!
Swaddled in birthday cheer
I grump through the day

#2 – for the drinkers
Call it what you will-
Bottoms up, or down the hatch.
Really it means CHEERS!

#3 – for the international drinkers
Call it what you will-
Salud, sante, na zdravi,
Prost, or simply CHEERS!

#4 – for my mum
My mum is complex
But all it takes to cheer her
Is for me to call

#5 – for those who want a “proper” haiku!
Slap on some fake cheer
To rouse from comfy slumbers
Answer morning’s call

For more great haiku, check out: https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/ronovanwrites-weekly-haiku-poetry-prompt-challenge-67-cheer-call/

ronovan_writes_haiku_prompt_badge_autumn_2014

25 thoughts on “Haiku – “Call” & “Cheer”

  1. Pingback: RonovanWrites 67th #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Challenge Review | ronovanwrites

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.